Your change

I bought something today for £3.34 and paid with a ten pound note.

The shop assistant handed me my change. First he placed a five pound note on my outstretched hand, then the receipt and finally, five coins on top of the pile.

Why do they do that? I was already holding three carrier bags. As I left the counter with my wallet held half-open in the carrier bag hand, I struggled to put the fiver in the notes section of my wallet, the receipt in one of the carrier bags, and the coins in my opposite jeans pocket.

It’s a wonder I didn’t drop the juggling balls I’d just bought.

Leave a Reply

